Time for Gardening!

Dare I type it out loud, but we may have had our last frost here in Nashville. Last year, of course, we had 2-3 nights of temps in the teens in mid-April, damaging lots of trees, shrubs and emerging crops. I still have one bush that’s limping along from that episode [not the one I wanted to die, of course].

In Nashville, our last frost is typically in early April. But the 10-day forecast looks like late spring weather for the next couple weeks, pushing us well past our typical last frost. Surely we won’t get burned two years in a row??

All this just points to what I have not done yet:

  1. Cleaned up the garden
  2. Weeded my flowerbeds
  3. Built paths in the garden
  4. Bought a compost bin
  5. Planted early spring crops like lettuce and peas

I can tell ya now, we’re leaving 3 and 5 by the wayside for the time being. 1 will have to happen of course. 2 and 4 shouldn’t be too hard, and I therefore need to get on the stick. Meanwhile, it’s 9 p.m. and pitch black, so I can leave off worrying about all this til tomorrow.

The Perennial Plant Society’s sale is next weekend…I just have to be ready by then!


  1. A lady I met at ENCM said we have one more frost to go….and to wait until the redbuds bloom before planting anything. Apparently this is a redbud winter. I have a black thumb, though, so I don’t know how any of that works. I’m just grateful when the grass grows!

  2. That late frost last year was a real stunner for many people. I hope you don’t get burned 2 years in a row. Takes some of the fun out of viewing plants emerging and then wondering if there is another frost on the horizon. Good Luck!




Leave a comment


  • Pages

  • Links I Like

  • Flickr Photos